NEW DELHI: Lucknow Super Giants spinner Digvesh Rathi found himself in the spotlight again on Friday — not just for his bowling, but for his controversial send-off celebration after dismissing Mumbai Indians batter Naman Dhir at the Ekana Cricket Stadium .
In the ninth over of MI’s 204 chase, Rathi clean bowled the in-form Dhir, who was threatening to take the game away with a blazing 46 off 24 balls. But it was what followed that raised eyebrows — a fierce send-off by Rathi that echoed his celebration from LSG’s previous match against Punjab Kings, for which he had already been fined 25% of his match fees and handed one demerit point by the IPL .
Go Beyond The Boundary with our YouTube channel.
Despite the prior punishment, Rathi repeated the gesture with no signs of restraint, unleashing the now ‘infamous’ paper celebration as Dhir walked off. The moment was quickly picked up by fans and is now sparking debate over whether further disciplinary action will follow.
The earlier IPL statement had cited a Level 1 breach under Article 2.5 (relating to “using language, actions or gestures which disparage or could provoke an aggressive reaction”), and while Rathi had accepted the sanction, his actions on Friday suggest he isn’t backing down from his trademark aggression.
WATCH:
With two send-offs in two games, the league and match referee may have a bigger decision to make, as repeated breaches could lead to sterner consequences.
In the ninth over of MI’s 204 chase, Rathi clean bowled the in-form Dhir, who was threatening to take the game away with a blazing 46 off 24 balls. But it was what followed that raised eyebrows — a fierce send-off by Rathi that echoed his celebration from LSG’s previous match against Punjab Kings, for which he had already been fined 25% of his match fees and handed one demerit point by the IPL .
Go Beyond The Boundary with our YouTube channel.
Despite the prior punishment, Rathi repeated the gesture with no signs of restraint, unleashing the now ‘infamous’ paper celebration as Dhir walked off. The moment was quickly picked up by fans and is now sparking debate over whether further disciplinary action will follow.
Knocks over Naman Dhir, brings out his ✍ celebration! 🔥
— Star Sports (@StarSportsIndia) April 4, 2025
Box-office stuff from Digvesh Rathi 👌
#IPLonJioStar 👉 #LSGvMI, LIVE NOW on Star Sports 1, Star Sports 1 Hindi & JioHotstar! pic.twitter.com/jkCtfCG98a
The earlier IPL statement had cited a Level 1 breach under Article 2.5 (relating to “using language, actions or gestures which disparage or could provoke an aggressive reaction”), and while Rathi had accepted the sanction, his actions on Friday suggest he isn’t backing down from his trademark aggression.
WATCH:
With two send-offs in two games, the league and match referee may have a bigger decision to make, as repeated breaches could lead to sterner consequences.
You may also like
Netanyahu planning to visit Trump at White House to negotiate 17% tariff: Report
Photo Gallery: Bhojpuri star Neha Malik has shared her beautiful pictures on social media...
Rajasthan Lokayukta Report Reveals Rampant Corruption, Calls Existing Law 'Toothless'
JD(U)'s Muslim leaders rally behind Nitish Kumar amid Waqf Bill backlash
Rs 20,000 crore net worth: Richest musician in the world [2025]